Love Yourself Blog

Love Yourself

By Phenola Moore

I’ve always loved to sew. When I was in the 11th grade I made a pair of pants and wore them to school with pride. In one of my classes, a boy called my name and pointed to my thighs. I thought he was trying to tell me there was something on my “designer” pants, instead he was making a joke about how large my thighs were. The joke was about me and it wasn’t funny.

Oh, the experiences of school. I surely don’t miss them because it seemed as if there was always someone who felt it was their unsolicited duty to point out negative things about their classmates’ appearance.

Back then, the negative words of these critics floated around in my head and made it hard for me to believe that I was attractive. I was too tall, weighed too much, had terrible acne and couldn’t do a thing with my hair. Who would find me attractive? I was a wreck or so I thought I was.

After high school, God directed me to another church where I attended a youth Bible study. The teacher taught a lesson from Romans 9:20 that changed my life. She told us to accept the way that God made us because He carefully molded and shaped us on the potter’s wheel making each of us a unique creation.

That night, the scriptures seemed to jump right out of my Bible into my heart. I realized that when I accepted negative comments from others, I was questioning God about His creation.

After that lesson, I started loving me from the inside out and adopted a new attitude. He made me as He wanted and once I accepted it, I was much happier.

Today, I am still tall, I wear the same size (which was fat when I was in high school), my acne has cleared up and instead of trying to fight the natural curls in my hair I let my hair do its thing. I love and accept everything God molded and shaped when He created me.

Get rid of those negative comments in your head and decide to accept “you” today!

Meditation:

“Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?” Romans 9:20

 

(c) 2011, Press On! Webzine, Published: Spring 2008, Reprinted with Permission

 ###

Please leave your comments here and log onto www.pressonwebzine.com to read my other writings. Thank you.

About pressonwebzine

I am a writer who loves to sing. My desire is to share my writings with the world. To read more of my writings, log onto www.pressonwebzine.com.
This entry was posted in ebook, kindle, magazine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Yourself Blog

  1. 10000books says:

    Very well said. I, too, didn’t feel as if I quite measured up. My insecurities lasted well into my adulthood, even now I am challenged by some level of insecurity but I am also learning that this is the plight of us all. Nowadays I resist the urge to measure up to the world’s impossible standards. I know for sure that God’s approval of me is all that matters. Thanks also for the scripture; what a great reminder to be content with myself just the way God made me. Thank you for blessing us with such a great post.

Leave a Reply

