Oprah Said Get it in a Whisper

I was getting out of my car at church and a man hollered out, “Hey Miss Avon. Does Avon (www.youravon.com/pmoore) sell men products?” I said yes.

He waited for me and I handed him the latest brochure (because I have an Avon (www.youravon.com/pmoore) logo on the side of my car, I get stopped all of the time by people interested in Avon). We then proceeded to talk and walk to the building and his last questions were how long had I been a member of the church and whether I was in the choir. I said yes then he said have a good evening. He went his way and I went mines.

Well when I came outside after the service, there was a note from him on my car windshield with his phone number on it, asking me if I would drive him to the mall after church. Well, needless to say, I read the note and proceeded home.

Later, I remembered a segment on “Oprah’s Lifeclass – Lesson 11: Your Life Speaks to You in a Whisper” on the “OWN Network.” She said, “Get it in a whisper and a brick doesn’t have to hit you.”

Oprah was referring to our inner voice or in the case of the believer, the Holy Spirit who whispers, don’t do that, this isn’t right, etc. In the Bible, 1 Kings 19:12 states “And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”

My inner voice (the Holy Spirit) said although the man’s intentions at church may have been genuine (he really needed a ride) you don’t know him, the mall will be closed when you get there, you are alone in the car, you are a woman and it isn’t safe.

I thank God for that I listened to that “still small voice” and I got it in a whisper!

###

To read my other writings, like the fall 2011 issue of Press On! Webzine, log onto www.pressonwebzine.com.  In it are articles that will encourage you to make changes in your physical and spiritual life. Thank you.

About pressonwebzine

Phenola Moore writes blogs on www.pressonwebzine.wordpress.com, she is the author of a digital book of poems, "Reveal the Real You Poetry Collection" and you can access pass issues of her online magazine, "Press On! Webzine," www.pressonwebzine.com. She has a Bachelor’s of Arts degree in English with a minor in Journalism from the University of Maryland University College. Follow her on Twitter @pressonwebzine.
This entry was posted in ebook, kindle, magazine, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oprah Said Get it in a Whisper

  1. Love it! Listen to the “whispers” in your life!

  2. That still small voice is always there, you just have to be in tune with it at all times to hear the voice of God. He will always keep you from hurt, harm and danger.

  3. womenar4 says:

    That was a great lesson on Oprah’s Lifeclass. Yes we do need to listen to those whispers. It will save us a lot of trouble in the long run. As always love http://www.womenaregamechangers.com.

  4. www.thedangerman.com says:

    Thank you for sharing this as DangerMan I’m in schools and other places telling people to use common sense listen to the inner voice and be safe!!! and out of Danger. What a blessing you are.

    DangerMan

Leave a Reply

