Read The Medication Guide

//
//

I opened up the sample package of Naprelen and read the label and these words under the medication guide jumped out at me, “NSAID medicines may increase the chance of a heart attack or stroke that can lead to death.” I thought to myself, “What? I’m not taking that medicine.”

This was what the orthopedic doctor prescribed for me to reduce the inflammation in my arm after I was diagnosed with frozen shoulder.

It all started one morning when I woke up and I couldn’t raise my arm. I tried over-the-counter medicine for a few days until I couldn’t take the pain any longer. My sister took me to the emergency room and I had to wear a sling on my left arm for almost two weeks.

After that, I went to an orthopedic doctor as a follow up. He prescribed Naprelan and gave me samples of it in the doctor’s office to take home.

After I read about the warnings on the label, I called my doctor and told him he had to prescribe something else for me. I went to his office and he gave me a sample of another medication. I read the medication guide label and it stated, “May make you depressed or cause suicide.” I told him that I wasn’t taking that one either.

It wasn’t like I was trying to be difficult because that isn’t my personality. But the side effects of these medicines were too lethal for me. And I know he was trying to give me the best medicine he thought would do the job but the Holy Spirit and common sense told me not to take either one of these because they may do more harm to my body than good.

Eventually he prescribed something that I agreed on taking.

Therefore, I am writing this blog to encourage you to read your medicine’s warnings and/or side effects before taking them.

###

Contact Information

Blogs: www.pressonwebzine.wordpress.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Press-On-Webzine/53949067685

Instagram: Pinkyphe

Twitter: www.twitter.com/pressonwebzine

Website: www.pressonwebzine.com

Youtube: www.youtube.com/thephenola

About pressonwebzine

Phenola Moore writes blogs on www.pressonwebzine.wordpress.com, she is the author of a digital book of poems, "Reveal the Real You Poetry Collection" and you can access pass issues of her online magazine, "Press On! Webzine," www.pressonwebzine.com. She has a Bachelor’s of Arts degree in English with a minor in Journalism from the University of Maryland University College. Follow her on Twitter @pressonwebzine.
This entry was posted in ebook, kindle, magazine, news, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Read The Medication Guide

  1. It’s a good thing you made time to read the side effects so many people blindly take medications with or even without a doctor’s consent. Have you ever tried turmeric? It naturally reduces inflammation. Check my blog for more details. You can read the following articles http://goodhealthdiva.blogspot.com/2011/01/benefits-of-turmeric.html or just enter turmeric in the search box for all articles on it.

  2. Cynthia says:

    That’s a good reminder Phenola…as well as take notes or keep a journal when taking medicine…so you can notify your doctor immediately if something new mental or physical appears

Leave a Reply

