My Natural Hair Journey – I Wanted to Throw My Shoe at Her

Yes, I felt like throwing my shoe at her. LOL Let me give you the background on why.

A few years ago, I was sitting at my desk at work and the head of human resources, Sheila*, stopped by with a strand of hair nestled between her two fingers. She plopped it down on my desk stating that she knew it had to be mines because I was the only woman on that floor with curly hair. She then stated that I left it in the sink in the bathroom, turned around and went down the hallway.

It took all the Jesus and Holy Ghost inside of me not to take my shoe off and throw it at the back of her head. LOL But instead, I restrained myself (thank you Jesus) picked up the strand of hair, peeked into my supervisor’s office and asked if he had a minute because I needed to speak to him.

After I closed the door and shared with him what had just happened, his face grew flushed because later he told me that he thought I would sue her and the company and that he hadn’t seen me that upset before. :>)

I told him that the employees needed to go through a diversity training program, especially the executives, to know what was appropriate to say and do to each other. Also, I need to tell you that Sheila is a minority, too. Therefore, I felt that all of us needed to go through this training.

I said all that to say that on my natural hair journey, everyone hasn’t been kind because of my decision. I’ve had total strangers come and put their hands in my hair before I could blink only to tell me that they wanted to know how my hair felt. And when I rarely wear it blow dried straight, without fail, someone will tell me that they like my hair better that way. :>)

I know that it’s not an easy decision to go natural because although some will cheer us on, there may be others who think that wearing our hair natural looks messy (keeping it real). But when I decided to embark on this journey, I was at a point in my life that what others thought about my hair was their issue, not mines.

Take care and stay strong on your natural hair journey.

* Name changed for privacy purposes.

###

What’s your natural hair story? If you want to share it with my readers (male or female) in the September issue of Press On! Webzine, www.pressonwebzine.com, e-mail me at pmoore@pressonwebzine.com by Wednesday August 8, 2012 and include a photo with you wearing your hair in a natural style (please note that your photo may be used in the publication, if your story is picked to be included).

Please note that this magazine is a FREE publication. Therefore, I can not pay you for your story or photo. But know that many will read your story and hopefully be inspired to either take the plunge to go natural or continue on their natural hair journey.

About pressonwebzine

Phenola Moore writes blogs on www.pressonwebzine.wordpress.com, she is the author of a digital book of poems, "Reveal the Real You Poetry Collection" and you can access pass issues of her online magazine, "Press On! Webzine," www.pressonwebzine.com. She has a Bachelor’s of Arts degree in English with a minor in Journalism from the University of Maryland University College. Follow her on Twitter @pressonwebzine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

