Love to Love You – Happy Valentine’s Week!

Phenola Moore in high school.

Phenola Moore in high school.

I was listening to Radio Personality Cheryl Jackson, on Praise 104.1fm (www.praisedc.com) and she said she deemed this as “National Love Week,” since Friday is Valentine’s Day. I thought this is a wonderful idea. Then I reflected on the love we have for God, in a relationship, and ourselves.

Most people go through life searching for God and a love relationship but don’t see the importance looking inward to love themselves. But in order to genuinely love God and others, we have to appreciate how He made us; unique and perfect in His eyes.

And I am not exempt because loving me was a struggle. My story is that I’ve always loved to sew. When I was in the 11th grade I made a pair of pants and wore them to school with pride. In one of my classes, a boy called my name and pointed to my thighs. I thought he was trying to tell me there was something on my “designer” pants instead he was making a joke about how large my thighs were. The joke was about me and it wasn’t funny.

Oh, the experiences of school. I surely don’t miss them because it seemed as if there was always someone who felt it was their unsolicited duty to point out negative things about their classmates’ appearance.

Back then, the negative words of these critics floated around in my head and made it hard for me to believe that anyone could love who I saw in the mirror. I was too tall, weighed too much, had terrible acne and couldn’t do a thing with my hair. Who would find me attractive? I was a wreck or so I thought I was.

God directed me to a youth Bible study. The teacher taught a lesson from Romans 9:20 that changed my life. She told us to accept the way that God made us because He carefully molded and shaped us on the potter’s wheel making each of us a unique creation.

That night, the Scriptures seemed to jump right out of my Bible into my heart. I realized that when I accepted negative comments from others, I was questioning God about His creation.

After that lesson, I started loving me from the inside out and adopted a new attitude. He made me as He wanted and once I accepted it, I was much happier. Today, I am still tall, I wear the same size (which was fat when I was in high school), my acne has cleared up, and instead of trying to fight the natural curls in my hair I let my hair do its thing. I love and accept everything God molded and shaped when He created me.

Get rid of those negative comments in your head and decide to accept “you” today! ■

Meditation:

“Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?” Romans 9:20

Website: www.pressonwebzine.com

About pressonwebzine

I am a writer who loves to sing. My desire is to share my writings with the world. To read more of my writings, log onto www.pressonwebzine.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

